中式杏仁

(南杏)

一般人所認識的杏仁粉有加州杏仁(正確應該稱巴旦木)的粉,以及中式杏仁糊用到的,也就是杏子的果仁*。但因廣汎被認識為中國杏仁,我們這裏也用這個名。如今杏仁比較普遍用在傳統的粵菜滋養和調和家庭湯品,但據說歷代中國皇后曾以食用杏仁茶美容養顔。

*而英文 Almonds 其實是指巴旦木而不應該用於杏仁。

可安全食用

需要澄清的另一個問題是有關毒性。 實際上,中國杏仁有兩種類型:甜和苦。 苦杏仁,通常也被稱為“北”杏仁,具有輕度毒性,其中含有少量氰化物作為其苦杏仁苷的代謝產物。 北杏仁通常由中醫使用。 一般在市場上出售的北杏仁已經熱燙,將毒性降低到在正常使用水平下不會造成傷害的程度。 意大利人還使用苦杏仁製作其Amaretto利口酒和Amaretti餅乾。

甜杏仁或“南”杏仁由於缺乏苦杏仁苷而沒有毒性,因此食用完全安全。 它們富含蛋白質和植物脂肪,並能滋養肺和皮膚。 我們的杏仁粉是用這些甜杏仁製成的。

杏仁油

杏仁油是一種鮮為人知的油,具有許多健康益處,包括改善皮膚和呼吸道健康的功效。

就像我們處理黑芝麻的方法一樣,製作杏仁粉的每一步都經過設計和優化,以保存和提取有價值的油。

尋回正宗的味道

100%純中式杏仁粉

製作中國杏仁茶的傳統食譜要求將浸泡過的杏仁攪遂,然後榨汁,然後丟棄固體。 取而代之的是,我們的杏仁粉是通過在特殊條件下精細研磨(去皮)杏仁製成的,以最大程度地提取天然油並保留在顆粒中。 在我們選擇合適的篩目尺寸(粉末大小)之前,已經進行了許多實驗,以增強天然杏仁的味道,並確保能在口中融化。

還值得一提的是,市場上許多其他品牌使用的杏仁都經過去油處理。因爲去油後只有淡淡的味道,所以這些品牌則添加了人造香料增添風味。不幸的是,這種人造香料已成為一種典型的風味,以至於許多年輕消費者將這種風味誤認為中國杏仁風味,從而引起了不公正的厭惡。 我們希望借助杏仁粉,尋回正宗歷代皇后垂青的味道。

HKD$118.00
HKD$98.00
購買杏仁粉

Chinese Almonds

(Sweet Southern Apricot Kernels)

First thing’s first – they’re actually not true almonds, but instead apricot kernels, or xìng rén in the Chinese language*. They’re also commonly known as Chinese Almonds, and for practical reasons we use this name as well. While they’re found commonly now in traditional Cantonese style nourishing and harmonizing home soups, Chinese Almonds were said to have been used by imperial Chinese empresses in almond tea to keep their skin supple and glowing.

*interestingly, the reverse misnomer also exists in the Chinese language, whereby the Californian type almonds are referred as xìng rén as well.

Safe to consume

Another concern to clear up is about toxicity. There are actually two types of Chinese Almonds – sweet and bitter. Bitter Almonds, also known commonly as beĭ xìng “Northern” Almonds, are mildly toxic containing traces of cyanide as a metabolic product of its amygdalin. They are typically used in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) by TCM practitioners. Those sold in markets have typically been blanched, reducing the amount of toxicity to the point where it wouldn’t cause harm under normal consumption levels. Bitter almonds are also used by the Italians to make their Amaretto liqueur and Amaretti cookies. 

Sweet almonds, or nán xìng “Southern” Almonds have no toxicity due to the lack of amygdalin and are therefore perfectly safe to consume. They’re rich in protein and plant fat, and nourishing for the lungs and skin. Our Almond Powders are made with these Sweet Almonds.

Apricot Kernel Oil

Apricot kernel oil is one of the lesser known oils that have provide many health benefits, including benefits for better skin and respiratory health.  

Much like our approach towards our Black Sesame, throughout the entire production process of our Almond Powders, each step is designed and optimized to preserve and extract the valuable oils. 

Bringing back the authentic taste

100% Pure Chinese Almond Powder

Traditional recipes for making Chinese almond tea call for blending soaked almonds and squeezing out the juice, discarding the solids. Instead, our Almond Powders are made by delicately grinding the almonds (with skin removed) under special conditions to maximize extraction and retention of the natural oils within the particles. Numerous experiments were done before we settled on just the right mesh size (powder particle size), to allow for an enhanced natural almond taste profile and melt-in-your-mouth texture.

It’s also worth mentioning that many other common brands on the market use almonds that have had their oils removed, which give them a bland taste. Others have added a certain artificial flavour, which has unfortunately become such a characteristic flavour that many younger consumers have mistaken that flavour as Chinese Almond flavour, acquiring a somewhat unjust distaste. With our Almond Powders, we hope to bring back the real taste that would have met the approval of the most discerning Chinese imperial empress.

Shop Almond Powder